APA News

News & Updates

New Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board

February 2015

On February 5, 2015, the Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Transport, appointed Ms. Lauria Anne Galbraith of Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, and Ms. Patricia Janet Mella of Stratford, Prince Edward Island to the Board of Directors of the Atlantic Pilotage Authority for three and four-year terms respectively.

Ms. Galbraith is a chartered accountant and a certified financial planner with almost 30 years of experience with several organizations in Nova Scotia. She is a senior manager with Collins Barrow Nova Scotia Inc. and has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Halifax Port Authority since 2008. She is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nova Scotia and the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, as well as a member of the Financial Planners Standards Council. Ms. Galbraith holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Mount Allison University.

Ms. Mella is a former Minister of Finance for Prince Edward Island. She also served as Minister Responsible for the Public Service, Minister Responsible for the Liquor Control Commission, Minister Responsible for the Lending Agency of Government, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, and Minister Responsible for the P.E.I. Lotteries Commission. Prior to that, Ms. Mella served as leader of the official opposition. Before her political career, Ms. Mella was a teacher and university lecturer for more than 15 years. She holds a Bachelor of Arts from St. Dunstanís University, a Master of Arts from the Catholic University of America and a Bachelor of Education from the University of Prince Edward Island.

For further information on these appointments, please refer to the Transport Canada Media Room website:

Return to News & Updates